The travel bug bite.

Hello everyone! Welcome to my new travel blog! I’ve been contemplating starting a travel blog for a long time. I see posts about it all time on Pinterest (boy that site is addicting….) and wanted to start my own.

But then i was thinking… well I only travel a few times a year when I can afford it and squeeze it in. I’m a single girl living alone, having to work numerous hours of overtime to pay my bills and have extra money left over. Well aren’t all of us on a budget? I would think so..unless you’re one of those rich people! haha!!

But honestly, I am on a tight budget most months. But I will try and help all of you find good deals! It is a gift I was given!!! I’m usually the first one my friends ask to help find a cheap flight or hotel. First, a little background on me…

I’m 33 years old, born and raised in Kansas. I live in small town, Larned, that has about 5,000 people and randomly smells like cow dung. Yep, it really does! It’s very frustrating, to say the least! Some days you want to go outside and enjoy the fresh air, but cannot, unless you REALLY LOVE the smell of cows. (Does anyone love that smell? Gross, no they don’t!!!!) I moved here in 2001 with my sister. I have two sisters, one younger, Kelsey, and one older, Felicia.  I never liked the town, and still don’t, but stay because of family and friends and have a good paying job. It’s the only good thing about small towns really, the easiness to make friends that last. I’m sure that happens in cities, but I’ve never lived in very big city. I lived in Lawrence (home of the KU Jayhawks) for about 3 months until an accident brought me back. And Topeka for 9 months, but couldn’t afford to stay there living on minimum wage. But I really didn’t like Topeka at all, so I’m ok with it.

Well I can’t say when the travel bug bit me. I remember being very young, around 7-9, sitting in the car just wishing to be anywhere else in the world except Kansas. Kansas has moments of good, even great, but overall it’s terribly boring. And I’m boring enough on my own, I didn’t need any help! I’m funny, but not that damn funny!!!!

Well I took my first solo trip to Tulsa, Oklahoma, to see my favorite band at the time, Hanson (yes THAT hanson!) and it was scary at first! You’re all by yourself, not sure if your car is gonna break down or what! It had moments of overheating once I got to Tulsa that scared me! I couldn’t find my hotel (CURSE YOU SKELLY DRIVE!!!) for like two hours, and I was shaking and crying a bit when I got there! But I love concerts (ok ok i’m a concert junkie) and the road-trip itself. The drive to Tulsa was about 6 hours and actually had some pretty spots. I found I really enjoyed it overall.

In 2007, I took my tax money and went to 3 concerts in a week. One in Topeka (My Chemical Romance)  and then flew to Allentown, Pennsylvania. I met up with some other girls who liked Hanson (yes again) and then we took a bus to NYC for the last concert. WOW. NYC was just like it was in the movies. We were there for a day….wish forever that it was longer! It blew my mind that every block had a McDonald’s and a Starbucks (Larned has NEITHER!) and the buildings were insanely tall. LIke DUDE! I’ll never forget that!

Oohhh I should mention that I do NOT like flying. I near have a panic attack during every take off. I hate speed and danger. I like to play it safe all the time! Honestly! I told you I was boring! BUT I will continue to fly as it gets me to the places I need to go!

Ok this is getting long here.. but the point is, I have a severe case of Wanderlust. And if a overworked girl like me can find a way to get places, so can you!

One thought on “The travel bug bite.

Leave a comment